APC Member Expectations & Responsibilities

This description is only intended to give interested candidates an idea of what is expected, but it is not complete. It is expected that APC members will attend all scheduled APC meetings (once or twice per month, sometimes more frequently). Meetings last approximately two and a half hours, but sometimes go longer. Members are also expected to participate in APC subcommittee work in addition to serving on the main committee.


Members should be prepared to discuss and keep confidential matters related to budgets, facilities, personnel, and other issues that arise through committee work. Previous public board experience is extremely helpful. A background in accounting, finance and/or grant writing is extremely helpful. APC members must listen and consider a variety of opinions and ideas as a representative of the school community.


APC members will vote and defend their considered opinion as active board members. The Rilke Schule APC is a public board and is subject to state laws regarding public meetings and voting Please visit rilkeschule.asdk12.org for more information about the APC.   

The Rilke Schule German School of Arts & Sciences has an Academic Policy Committee  (“APC”), which is the primary governing body designated to oversee and supervise many aspects of the Charter School. 

If you have an item you would like to see brought up at an APC meeting, please send a request any APC member via email, phone, or by putting a note in the 'APC' mailbox at school. If you have accompanying information please include it as an attachment. The more time ahead of the meeting you send in the information, the better the chances the board will have had time to think about and study your request and thus be prepared and informed for the meeting. The APC thanks you for taking an active role in the future of your school.

The APC Regular monthly meetings are held at 6:00 PM at school. The agenda will be posted a reasonable time ahead of the meetings.  The meetings are open to the public and everyone is invited and encouraged to attend.


APC Bylaws


Can be found on our Rilke Schule Calendar.

The APC will be holding its annual parent/community elections in February. Please look in School News section of this website for details.  If anyone is interested in serving on the APC next year please contact us at apc_rilke@asdk12.org.


APC Standing Committee Structure 



Kjersti Von Wichman

Givey Kochanowski 

Rebecca Colvin

Ann Weese

Morten Kjerland

Jeremy Parker 

James Wileman

Herr Barr - Rilke Schule Principal, Ex Officio (non-voting member)




Other public APC documents can be found at the following Google Docs link:
Google doc folder